Key Data

Region: West Africa Population: 140,003,542 as at 2006, estimated by The National Population Commission (NPC) Area Total: 923,770 km2 Area Land: 910,770 km 2 Coast Line: 853 km Capital: Abuja Climate: Varies: equatorial in south, tropical in center, arid in north Major Languages: English (official) Hausa Yoruba Ibo Currency: 1 Naira (?) = 100 Kobo National Day: Independence Day, 1 October (1960)


Three-tier structure - A Federal Government, 36 State Governments, 768 Local Government Administrations and 6 Area Councils of the Federal Capital Territory of Abuja.

Main Religions

Traditional Beliefs, Christianity, Islam

Main Commercial/Industrial Cities

Lagos, Onitsha, Kano, Ibadan, Port Harcourt, Aba, Maiduguri, Jos, Kaduna, Warri, Benin, Calabar Major Industrial Complexes:

Refineries and Petro-Chemicals

Kaduna, Warri, Port Harcourt, Eleme. Iron and Steel: Ajaokuta, Warri, Oshogbo, Katsina, Jos. Fertilizer: Onne- Port Harcourt, Kaduna, Minna, Kano Liquified Natural Gas : Bonny Aluminium Smelter: Ikot Abasi, Port Harcourt Main Ports: Lagos (Apapa, Tin-can Island), Warri, Port Harcourt, Onne Deep Sea and Hub Port, Calabar (EPZ)

Main Airports

Lagos, Kano, Port Harcourt, Abuja, Enugu, Kaduna, Maiduguri, Ilorin, Jos, Owerri, Calabar, Yola, Sokoto

Road Network

Over 15,000 km of intercity all weather paved roads, including dual carriage express trunks.


2 main lines (South-West to North-East; South-East to North-West) inter-linked and terminatory at Lagos, Port Harcourt, Kaura Namoda, Maiduguri and Nguru. Major junctions at Kaduna, Kafanchan, Zaria. Gauge: 1067mm; Total length 3505 route km.


Hydro-electric: Kainji, Jebba, Shiroro. Thermal and Gas: Egbin (Lagos), Ughelli, Afam, Sapele, National grid for electricity distribution; National pipeline network with regional depots for petroleum products distribution; National network (pipeline) for distribution of gas (under construction).